Who do you call on in distress?

Psalms  18:6 In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.

As believers and Christian pilgrims on earth, there is a question we need to keep asking ourselves consistently, In times of trouble, in moments of anguish, who do we turn to?

When the storms of life rage around us, who do we call upon for refuge and strength? Do we seek solace in worldly comforts, or do we lift our voices to the Almighty, our Creator, our Sustainer?

The Psalmist understood the power of calling upon the Lord in distress. He knew that in God alone could he find true deliverance and salvation. And so, he cried out with all his heart, knowing that his cry would reach the ears of the Most High.

Some trusted in chariots, some in money, some in friends, some their self acclaimed power or status. But let us not be quick to turn to the fleeting pleasures of this world. Instead, let us turn our gaze heavenward, to the One who is ever-present, ever-faithful, and ever-loving.

For it is in God that we find our strength. It is in God that we find our hope. It is in God that we find our peace that surpasses all understanding.

Nevertheless, let us not wait until trouble comes knocking at our door to call upon the Lord. Let us cultivate a relationship with Him daily, through prayer, through worship, through the reading of His Word. Let us draw near to Him in times of joy, so that when the storms come, we may stand firm in His grace.

And know this, my beloved: when we call upon the Lord in distress, He hears us. He sees our pain, He feels our anguish, and He responds with compassion and mercy. His ear is ever attentive to the cries of His children, and His hand is ever ready to save.

So, I ask today, who will you call upon in distress? Will you turn to the passing pleasures of this world, or will you lift your voice to the heavens and cry out to the God who loves you beyond measure?

May we all be like the Psalmist, declaring with unwavering faith: “In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.”

God is not far from you, don’t be far from him.

God bless you.

Prayer key:

1. Lord, thank you for the blessing of your word today in Jesus Christ name.

2. Lord, ó call upon you today, come to my aid in Jesus Christ name.

3. Lord, help me to trust you in all situations in Jesus Christ name.

4. Thank you Lord for answered prayers in Jesus Christ name. Amen.

Published by Lawrence Alabi Adopisa

Counsellor, Motivator kingdom influencer and Preacher of the Gospel of Christ

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started